The Great Way

The Great Way

A round-the-world trip through the people on the trails

This documentary series travels the world´s greatest hiking routes to find stories that reveal the reasons for the walking nature of the human being.

Alba and Raul get their backpacks ready and start their journey around the world greatest walking trails, a journey that will take them from Japan to Peru, passing through the United States and also making the Santiago Way, looking for hikers and pilgrims of all kinds of routes: natural, spiritual and cultural.
They will find as many stories and reasons for walking as people, and will share with them experiences and suffering, bringing them closer to the spectators, discovering the hidden universes within the different paths of the world.
But they will not only share experiences with travelers. In their journey of discovery, they will learn about the social issues and injustices of each country, sharing concerns with locals whose destiny is bounded to the trails. Our protagonists will realize that, in the end, all paths are just a bridge to discover new places, people and cultures, as well as ourselves, and that the fact that borders cannot contain the walking nature of human beings.

1. Pacific Crest Trail, USA
We are travelling to California to start one of the longest and most impressive hiking routes in the world: the Pacific Crest Trail. A path that crosses the United States along the peaks of the West Coast from Canada to Mexico. A real challenge only suitable for experienced hikers.
2. Inca Trail, Peru
This episode takes us to Peru, South America, to reach by foot one of the seven wonders of the world: MACHU PICCHU. The Inca Trail is a route that the Incas have kept secret for centuries and is now rescued to reach Machu Pichu on foot through the Andean subtropical forest on an unforgettable journey.
3. Kumano Kodo Route, Japan
We travel to the Far East to discover the Kumano Kodo, an ancient pilgrimage through the sacred mountains and temples of Kumano on the Kii Peninsula, which take us to ancient and rural Japan on a spiritual path of purification.
4. Way Of St. James, Spain
The Way of St. James is the most important pilgrimage route in Europe. Millions of people have traveled it for centuries to walk to Santiago de Compostela and Finisterre (End of the Earth) in Spain.

4K SCREENERS ON DEMAND

Director(s) : Raul Garcia & Alba Prol

Year : 2021

Duration : 4x52' & 1x90' - 4K minutes

Festival(s) :
(Français) - RSFA Cannes Silk Road Awards: WINNER - European Cinematography Awards: Finalist - Front Range International Film Festival - New York Cinematography Awards: Winner - Istanbul Film Awards: Winner - Golden Sparrow International Film Festival: Winner - Tagore International Film Festival: Winner - Druk International Film Festival: Winner - WUIFF: Winner - Mabig Film Festival - Virgin Spring Cinefest: Winner



Vimeo Link

The Great Way

The Great Way

Un voyage autour du monde à la rencontre des marcheurs.

Cette série documentaire parcourt les plus grands itinéraires de randonnée du monde pour trouver des histoires qui révèlent les raisons de la vocation à marcher de l’être humain.
Alba et Raul préparent leurs sacs à dos et entament leur voyage autour des plus grands sentiers de randonnée du monde, un voyage qui les mènera du Japon au Pérou, en passant par les États-Unis et en empruntant le chemin de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle, à la recherche de randonneurs et de pèlerins de tous types de chemins : naturels, spirituels et culturels.
Ils trouveront autant d’histoires et de raisons de marcher que de personnes, et partageront avec elles des expériences et des souffrances, les rapprochant des spectateurs, découvrant les univers cachés au sein des différents chemins du monde.Mais ils ne partageront pas seulement des expériences avec des voyageurs. Dans leur voyage de découverte, ils apprendront les problèmes sociaux et les injustices de chaque pays, partageant les préoccupations des habitants dont le destin est lié aux sentiers.
Nos protagonistes réaliseront qu’en fin de compte, tous les chemins ne sont qu’un pont pour découvrir de nouveaux lieux, de nouvelles personnes et de nouvelles cultures, ainsi que nous-mêmes, et le fait que les frontières ne sauraient endiguer la nature itinérante des êtres humains.

1. Pacific Crest Trail, USA
Nous nous rendons en Californie pour entamer l’un des itinéraires de randonnée les plus longs et les plus impressionnants du monde : le Pacific Crest Trail. Un chemin qui traverse les États-Unis en longeant les sommets de la côte ouest, du Canada au Mexique. Un véritable défi qui ne convient qu’aux randonneurs expérimentés.
2. Chemin Inca, Pérou
Cet épisode nous emmène au Pérou, en Amérique du Sud, pour atteindre à pied l’une des sept merveilles du monde : LE MACHU PICCHU. Le Chemin Inca est un itinéraire que les Incas ont gardé secret pendant des siècles et qui est maintenant ressuscité pour atteindre le Machu Pichu à pied à travers la forêt subtropicale andine lors d’un voyage inoubliable.
3. Route du Kumano Kodo, Japon
Nous voyageons en Extrême-Orient pour découvrir le Kumano Kodo, un ancien pèlerinage à travers les montagnes et les temples sacrés de Kumano sur la péninsule de Kii, qui nous emmène dans le Japon ancien et rural sur un chemin spirituel de purification.
4. Chemin de Saint-Jacques, Espagne
Le chemin de Saint-Jacques est la route de pèlerinage la plus importante d’Europe. Des millions de personnes l’ont emprunté depuis des siècles pour se rendre à Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle et à Finisterre (fin de la terre) en Espagne.

LIENS 4K SUR DEMANDE

Réalisateur(s) : Raul Garcia & Alba Prol

Année : 2021

Durée : 4x52' & 1x90' - 4K minutes

Festival(s) :
- RSFA Cannes Silk Road Awards: WINNER - European Cinematography Awards: Finalist - Front Range International Film Festival - New York Cinematography Awards: Winner - Istanbul Film Awards: Winner - Golden Sparrow International Film Festival: Winner - Tagore International Film Festival: Winner - Druk International Film Festival: Winner - WUIFF: Winner - Mabig Film Festival - Virgin Spring Cinefest: Winner



Vimeo Link