TALES FROM THE WETLAND

TALES FROM THE WETLAND

Wetlands are incredibly important ecosystems offering a continuous source of water, food and shelter to the living creatures inhabiting them.
They are consequently the natural habitat of thousands of fascinating plants and animal species: from the newly reintroduced Sarus Crane birds, the biggest flying bird in the world, on the lakesides to the Orange Crabs of the mangroves. All of them have physiologically evolved to adapt to this environment and developed surprising behaviours to share this territory in a perfectly balanced way. This stunning series is a fabulous discovery of the Wetlands’ ecosystems, a water-saturated environment, paradise for thousands of living creatures.

  • Episode 1: The Charming Wetland
    The watersaturated area is preparing for the arrival of native birds and migratory species from across the globe. In the wetlands, every change of season brings spectacular scenes of interactions between all the species present there.
  • Episode 2: Hunting in Flowing Waters
    In the middle of summer, wetlands are a delight for indigenous and migratory birds: they represent a full supply of fish species they can feed on. Many different species, such as grebes, whistling ducks, cotton pygmy geese and several species of diving birds, come hunting in the area.
  • Episode 3: Kingdom of Aquatic Travellers
    A huge and scenic freshwater swamp in central Thailand, Beung Boraphet is home to various spectacular species of water travelling birds. Join us to unravel the secret behind these particular species, such as the glossy ibis, the pond heron and the little egret, and learn how they fare and feed in this wetland.
  • Episode 4: Instinct of defense
    In their natural habitat, indigenous birds find safety and enjoy its fertility. But when seasons change and food supplies diminish, they are forced to make use of their best survival skills.
  • Episode 5: The Heart of a Lake
    The scenic Thale Noi lake is a fertile ecosystem that has nurtured the lives of local people for a long time. How did this lake participated in the creation of such a huge ecosystem? We’ll trace the origin of this lake, and the local creatures’ efforts for survival.
  • Episode 6: Where Waters Meet
    Where land and sea meet is a unique ecosystem: the mangrove forest. Subject to the tides’ flow, it serves as a buffer that protects the coastal area and shelters several marine species, from the smallest to the biggest.
  • Episode 7:  Fertility of the land and the sea
    Land and water interactions create miracles of life. How amazing it is to visit a mangrove forest and observe sharks offspring near the edge of the land, before they leave for their real home in the ocean!
  • Episode 8:  An Amazing Peat Swamp Forest
    The dense rainforest along the Tenasserim mountain range has a unique characteristic: the underground water that wells up through soil sediments makes this fertile forest a perfect tree-enshrouded home for the Thaiphusa sirikit crab, one of the most colourful freshwater crustaceans.
  • Episode 9: Reviving the Sarus (Siamese) Crane 1
    The Sarus Crane bird is the world’s biggest flying bird. Almost extinct in Thailand, this legendary wading bird has disappeared from the country’s natural habitats for a long time. Local scientists have made unwavering efforts for more than 2 decades, to reintroduce sarus cranes into their motherland.
  • Episode 10: Reviving the Sarus Crane 2
    Before being reintroduced to nature, Sarus Crane birds have to pass a number of tests, from hatching, growing up in training cages, to learning how to survive in the wild.
  • Episode 11: Reviving the Sarus Crane 3
    Watch these Sarus Cranes back in their new world, adapting to a vast natural environment. The passing of the first seasons will be a true survival test for these graceful birds, and natural selection will determine who will preserve the bloodline.
  • Episode 12: Reviving the Sarus Crane 4
    The young Sarus Cranes that were released in the nature about a year ago have flocked together and learned to survive. The vast sky that stretches to the horizon is waiting for them to explore, as far as they can fly. In this swamp, their neighbours will quickly turn out to be friends or foes.
    The first eggs they will lay in the wetland are a precious gift for their motherland — the first steps towards the revival of this almost-extinct species in its natural habitat.

SCREENERS UPON REQUEST

Partner(s) : TV Burabha

Broadcaster(s) : Thaï PBS

Year : 2019

Duration : 12x52' minutes

TALES FROM THE WETLAND

TALES FROM THE WETLAND

Les zones humides sont des écosystèmes incroyablement importants qui offrent une source continue d’eau, de nourriture et d’abri aux créatures qui les habitent.
Ils sont ainsi l’habitat naturel de milliers de plantes et d’espèces animales fascinantes : des Grues Sarus (Grue Antigone), la plus grande espèce d’oiseaux volant au monde récemment réintroduites sur les bords des lacs aux crabes oranges des mangroves. Tous ont évolué physiologiquement pour s’adapter à cet environnement et ont développé des comportements surprenants pour partager ce territoire de manière parfaitement équilibrée.
Cette série est une fabuleuse découverte des écosystèmes des zones humides, un environnement saturé en eau, paradis de milliers d’êtres vivants.

  • Episode 1: Le charme des zones humides
    Ces zones, saturées en eau, se préparent à l’arrivée d’oiseaux indigènes et d’espèces migratrices du monde entier. Dans les zones humides, chaque changement de saison apporte avec lui des scènes spectaculaires d’interactions entre toutes les espèces qui y sont présentes.
  • Episode 2: Chasse en eaux-vives
    Au milieu de l’été, ces zones humides sont un ravissement pour les oiseaux indigènes et migrateurs : elles représentent une réserve abondante d’espèces de poissons dont ils peuvent se nourrir. De nombreux oiseaux différents, tels que les grèbes, les canards siffleurs, les oies naines et plusieurs oiseaux plongeurs, viennent chasser dans la région.
  • Episode 3: Royaume des voyageurs aquatiques
    Beung Boraphet est un immense et pittoresque marais d’eau douce situé dans le centre de la Thaïlande. Il abrite diverses espèces spectaculaires d’oiseaux aquatiques voyageurs. Joignez-vous à nous pour percer le secret de ces espèces particulières, comme l’ibis luisant, le héron des marais et l’aigrette garzette, et apprenez comment elles se débrouillent et se nourrissent dans cette zone humide.
  • Episode 4: Instinct de défense
    Dans leur habitat naturel, les oiseaux trouvent la sécurité et savent profiter de la fertilité de l’environnement. Mais lorsque les saisons changent et que les réserves de nourriture diminuent, ils sont obligés d’utiliser leurs meilleures techniques de survie.
  • Épisode 5: Au cœur du lac
    Le pittoresque lac « Thale Noi » est un écosystème fécond qui a nourri la vie des populations locales pendant longtemps. Comment ce lac a-t-il participé à la création d’un écosystème aussi gigantesque ? Nous retracerons l’origine de ce lac, et les efforts de survie des êtres vivants qui l’habitent.
  • Épisode 6: Là ou les eaux se rencontrent
    Là où la terre et la mer se rencontrent, se trouve un écosystème unique : la mangrove. Soumise au flux des marées, elle sert de zone tampon protégeant la zone côtière et abrite de nombreuses espèces marines, des plus petites aux plus grandes.
  • Episode 7 : Requins entre terre et mer
    Les échanges entre la terre et l’eau de mer créent des miracles ! Dans les forêts de mangroves, proches des terres, les requins viennent donner naissance à leur progéniture avant de repartir pour l’océan, leur véritable habitat.
  • Episode 8 : Une étonnante forêt de tourbières
    La dense forêt tropicale qui borde la chaîne de montagnes du Tenasserim présente une caractéristique unique : l’eau remonte des nappes phréatiques à travers les sédiments du sol, conférant une fertilité exceptionnelle à cette forêt. Elle est ainsi devenue un abri idéal pour, entre autres, le crabe Sirikit, un crustacé d’eau douce très coloré.
  • Épisode 9: Faire renaître la Grue Sarus (Grue Antigone) 1
    La Grue Sarus est le plus grand oiseau volant du monde. Presque disparu en Thaïlande, ce légendaire échassier a cessé d’exister dans les habitats naturels du pays depuis longtemps. Les scientifiques locaux ont déployé des efforts acharnés depuis plus de deux décennies pour réintroduire la Grue Sarus dans son milieu naturel.
  • Épisode 10: Faire renaître la Grue Sarus 2
    Avant d’être réintroduits dans leur milieu naturel, les Grues Sarus doivent passer un certain nombre de tests, de l’éclosion à l’apprentissage de la survie en milieu naturel.
  • Épisode 11: Faire renaître la Grue Sarus 3
    Observez ces Grues Sarus dans leur nouveau milieu, s’adaptant à un vaste environnement naturel. Le passage des premières saisons sera un véritable test de survie pour ces oiseaux gracieux, et la sélection naturelle déterminera quels seront ceux qui préserveront la lignée.
  • Épisode 12: Faire renaître la Grue Sarus 4
    Les jeunes Grues Sarus relâchées dans la nature voici près d’un an se sont rassemblées et ont appris à survivre ensemble. Le vaste ciel qui s’étend jusqu’à l’horizon les attend pour être exploré, aussi loin qu’elles puissent voler. Dans ce marécage, leurs voisins se révéleront rapidement être des amis ou des rivaux.
    Les premiers œufs qu’elles pondront dans cette zone humide sont un précieux cadeau pour leur terre natale – le premier pas vers la réintroduction de cette espèce presque éteinte dans son habitat naturel.

LIENS DE  VISIONNAGE SUR DEMANDE

Partenaire(s) : TV Burabha

Diffusion(s) : Thaï PBS

Année : 2019

Durée : 12x52' minutes